Tashkent (Uzbek Toshkent, Toshkent) is the capital and largest city of Uzbekistan, a city of republican subordination, the administrative center of the Tashkent region, which does not belong to. The largest city in the population of Uzbekistan and Central Asia, the center of the Tashkent urban agglomeration, the most important political, economic, cultural and scientific center of the country, as well as the aviation, railway and road junction.

It is administratively divided into 11 districts. Tashkent is one of the five largest cities in the population among the CIS countries. The population exceeds 2.3 million people.


Other cities of Uzbekistan